Home Forums Milk The Cow Strategy Questions from a User on Stock Selection

Tagged: 

Viewing 2 reply threads
  • Author
      admin
      Keymaster

Hi Serge,

I read with great interest two articles of yours on the “Milking the Cow” strategy, one from November 2013 and the other from June 2020. I have been looking for a place to apply my sidelined cash (currently suffering in a low-interest FDIC bank account) in the hopes of better returns. I think I have a good grasp of the proposal and am interested to try it, however, I had some comments and questions. I hope you don’t mind that I emailed you rather than posting on Seeking Alpha. If you prefer that I post to the site instead to keep the community discussion active, please let me know and I will post there. Otherwise, I thought the direct email format is easier and allows more candid discussion versus a public forum.

Currently I am just getting started on a wheel strategy with a few test stocks but the cow milking strategy looks like it may be safer.

First, regarding the underlying security, XSP is at first an attractive choice since it has European style assignment and favorable 60/40 capital gains tax treatment. However, I checked the volumes just now and they are a fraction of SPY. For example, Jul31 weeklies 321 XSP calls had volume of 89 yesterday versus 10,100 for SPY. SPX has better volume of 698 however the contract size is 10x the size which makes it unattractive for my portfolio size at least. So I think SPY (or IWM or QQQ) are the best choices balancing option cost and volume. (Speaking of underlying choice, I think from reading your post you are long-term bearish on SPY as am I, not sure if that makes a difference, but I am more bullish on IWM so maybe it would be the better choice.)

Regarding PDT concerns, I think to employ this strategy one needs at least an account size of $25,000 for IWM and probably $40,000 for SPY/QQQ so probably not a concern?